This and That

Random bits of my life

Archive for November 15th, 2009

White Lilies Finished!

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 15, 2009

White Lilies Finished

Begun May 13, 2008. Finished Nov. 14, 2009. 130 x 90 stitches (11,700 total).  98 colours. Pattern from Golden Kite.

At the rate I’m going, I’ll be working on my next project well into my retirement. If I live long enough to finish it, that is.

There was a noticeable difference in quality in the DMC floss. I suspect that some of the floss is very old, dating from my teens or perhaps even older, from other people’s stashes. Because floss doesn’t cost all that much and is the basic cost of the project (after the fabric and pattern, both of which have already been purchased), I may buy a new batch of floss from a company with a high stock turnover, like Nordic Needle.

Update: Sorry — forgot to mention that this counted cross-stitch, worked on 18-count Aida, so there are 18 stitches to the inch.  That works out to (GULP) 324 stitches per square inch!

nablo1109.120x90

Share

Posted in Crafts, embroidery | 7 Comments »