This and That

Random bits of my life

White Lilies Finished!

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 15, 2009

White Lilies Finished

Begun May 13, 2008. Finished Nov. 14, 2009. 130 x 90 stitches (11,700 total).  98 colours. Pattern from Golden Kite.

At the rate I’m going, I’ll be working on my next project well into my retirement. If I live long enough to finish it, that is.

There was a noticeable difference in quality in the DMC floss. I suspect that some of the floss is very old, dating from my teens or perhaps even older, from other people’s stashes. Because floss doesn’t cost all that much and is the basic cost of the project (after the fabric and pattern, both of which have already been purchased), I may buy a new batch of floss from a company with a high stock turnover, like Nordic Needle.

Update: Sorry — forgot to mention that this counted cross-stitch, worked on 18-count Aida, so there are 18 stitches to the inch.  That works out to (GULP) 324 stitches per square inch!

nablo1109.120x90

Share

7 Responses to “White Lilies Finished!”

  1. Ann said

    Very pretty! Now to find the perfect frame. That’s usually the slowest part of the process for me.

  2. JulesM said

    Wow, is that gorgeous! Good heavens, 98 colors! It looks very painterly. Interesting about the differing quality of DMC floss. I should remember that when I work on some of my vintage pieces :o)

  3. Karen R said

    WooHoo!!! Congrats on your WONDERFUL finish!!!! Iknew that last 1000 stitches would go quick!! Well done!

    • apinnick said

      Thanks, Karen! Couldn’t have done it without your encouragement and advice. Now I only hope I live long enough to finish the Unicorn!

  4. pam said

    I am nearly speechless! What a gorgeous piece. Petite Point?

    I think I would like the variety of working with 98 colors. In my needle point days – also when I was a teen – the patterns I worked were usually a small floral in a huge field of mauve stitches. Boring to do. But I like this one very much. I’m not going to attempt it, but I like it!

Leave a Reply

 
