This and That

Random bits of my life

Archive for November 27th, 2009

Cauliflower Love

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 27, 2009

Cauliflower

Cauliflower is one of my favourite vegetables. I love photographing it in its raw state and I love eating it, either cooked or raw. I don’t think I could ever tire of cauliflower. This photo was taken in my kitchen, lit by the natural light coming through the window. The background was the stainless steel sink, far enough to be dark and shadowy.

Here’s a simple, fool-proof recipe. It’s so simple that even calling it a recipe seems a stretch. It’s more of a method of cooking. Roasting works for almost any vegetable. This week’s choice was the head of cauliflower in the photo.

Roasted Cauliflower

1 large head of cauliflower
2 tbs virgin olive oil
1 tsp thyme (I used dry but fresh thyme would be even better)
3 cloves of garlic (or to taste), peeled and slivered
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Cut the head of cauliflower into florets and stems so that they’re a fairly uniform size. Drizzle with olive oil so that the florets glisten. Tuck in slivers of garlic. Season with thyme, salt, and pepper.

Roast in a heavy casserole dish at 400F for 45 minutes, turning with a spoon every 10 minutes or so, scraping the bottom of the pan so that the garlic doesn’t get stuck to the bottom and burn. Keep an eye on it so that it doesn’t burn. You want the cauliflower to have slightly charred edges.

Variations: Broccoli florets work well. Devra added carrots cut into coins, omitting the thyme because she wasn’t sure her kids would like it, and said the recipe was a big hit with her family.

Kosher Cooking Carnival #48

I contributed my recipe for sourdough na’an to the latest Kosher Cooking Carnival. Check out the other recipes!

Share

Posted in Food, recipes | Tagged: | 1 Comment »