This and That

Random bits of my life

Baking, Baking, Baking…

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 2, 2011

Round challahs, ready for freezing

Can someone please unchain me from the oven? This is what I did on Wednesday, in preparation for Rosh Hashanah and Shabbat. Above are four small challot, wrapped and ready for freezing. These photos aren’t my best, by the way. They were all taken with a point & shoot camera, no time to style the food or light it properly.

Apple Pcan cakes:

Apple Pecan Cakes

Mushroom Leek Quiche:

Mushroom Leek Quiche

Two rolls of knishes, one with salmon and the other with sauteed cabbage. I really thought I’d ruined these for sure. New recipe. It was going okay until I noticed that the pastry was much too wet. I stopped adding liquid immediately. After chilling for several hours it was still goopy. I rolled it out very carefully with extra flour on a silicone mat and used the mat to roll the dough around the filling, like making makisushi. To my surprise, the dough held together and was light and tender.

Rolls for Salmon and Cabbage Knishes

Two butternut squash pies, also a first-time recipe. By this time I was sick of cutting in fat and rolling out pastry, so I cheated with a crumbly whole wheat flour and oil crust. Not as good as the real thing, but I was getting tired. I also cut back quantity of honey because I don’t like really sweet dishes.

Squash Pies

Now I have so much food in the fridge I probably won’t have to cook until Yom Kippur…. I also made pot roast, potatoes, Persian rice, and the usual salads. Oh, the Persian rice! If you haven’t made Persian rice before, it’s quite a process — soak overnight, boil briefly until almost tender, drain, then steam with a towel wrapped around the lid (I chose to do the optional step of putting oil and a thin layer of potatoes on the bottom to make a crust). I was talking to the plumber, who’d come to take a look at a pipe that will need replacing at some point, while trying to make the rice. As soon as I finished steaming it I suddenly remembered that I’d forgotten the boiling step. Yes, I steamed uncooked, soaked rice. I dumped some water in, boiled it briefly, and resigned myself to serving it to my family. To my relief, it was tender and delicious. The potato crust was firmly glued to the bottom of the pot, but I didn’t mind sacrificing it.

4 Responses to “Baking, Baking, Baking…”

  1. It is that time of year again:) 🙂 I really enjoy making the holiday dishes… but I have to say when the dinner is done I do enjoy my glass..umm glasses of wine with my feet up… 🙂 Nothing like that smile that comes across the faces of the guests when they bite into my dish and say “oh that is good:)” it makes all the work worth it:)

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks for the comments on my Rosh Hashanah postings! You’ve reminded me that I’ve got to start planning my menus. All the good cooks I know are very fond of wine — it’s a sign of enjoying life’s pleasures and sharing them with others! Just stumbled across this link. Enjoy! – http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/tag/wine

      • Wine…“Wine can of their wits the wise beguile, Make the sage frolic, and the serious smile”
        ― Homer
        “I love everything that is old; old friends, old times, old manners, old books, old wines.”
        ― Oliver Goldsmith, The Vicar of Wakefield
        thank you:) What are you planning for your menu? I have most of the menu planned…. but I am still looking for a fantastic beet recipe, any ideas? It can be anything.. I was thinking about Chocolate beet cake or beet mousse in chocolate cups.. but I am not sure 🙂

  2. […] Baking, Baking, Baking […]

Leave a Reply

 
