This and That

Random bits of my life

Lady with Unicorn Update

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 3, 2011

Lady and Unicorn update - Oct 2, 2011

It’s been ages since I posted an update on this piece, because it’s been months since I set up my embroidery stand. Something always eats away at my free (ha!) time or I’m too tired to set up the stand, unfold the pattern easel, pull out my magnets and clips, etc. When my husband asked why I didn’t use up the fabric I have taking up space on our shelves, I said it was because sewing the fabric was the best way to get rid of it and I never had the sewing machine set up. (Naturally, I didn’t mention the options of selling, giving away, or burning the fabric as an offering to the goddess of unfinished works….). He suggested setting up our small folding table (the kind you used to get from the Jewish Agency as part of your immigration package, along with the cheap plastic chairs, rickety little bed, and plastic dishes). I was so thrilled to get six square feet of work space that I hugged him. You’d think that years of grad school would have taught me the lesson that nothing gets done if you don’t make time and space for it. I would never have finished my dissertation if I hadn’t had a library to go to and a desk at home. It’s a far cry from having a real studio but it’s better than letting the months slip by without working a single stitch. So now I have a little table of my own … at least until Sukkot. We have a tiny sukkah and this mini table is the only one that fits.

Here’s the last photo I took of this embroidery, on March 3, 2011. The previous blog post is here.

Lady with Unicorn, 2 pages complete

Miscellaneous data:
Purchased from Scarlet Quince
318 x 410 stitches (total: 130,380 stitches)
130 colours
18-count Aida (= 18 stitches/inch)
Started Nov. 23, 2009

We had some work done on our bathroom. Here are the before and after photos:

Bathroom before renovations

IMG_0621

We were very satisfied with our builder. If you want his name and number, send me an email.

Shanah tovah (happy new year)!

3 Responses to “Lady with Unicorn Update”

  1. Betty Braaksma said

    Happy New Year to you & your family too! I look forward to the continuing adventures of the Lady and her sidekick.

  2. SJSchafer said

    Wow, the bathroom work is really nice. Amazing how a little thing like that can completely change a space! I love the embroidery.. how satisfying to know that you have created a lasting work of art.

  3. […] proof that I still remember how to use a needle. I haven’t posted an update since last October because I hardly worked on it this […]

Leave a Reply

 
