This and That

Random bits of my life

Jerusalem Day Video

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 18, 2010

I made a video, uploaded it to YouTube, then decided I wasn’t happy with the editing, and deleted it. Yesterday morning I re-edited the footage and uploaded it again to YouTube.

My son (electric guitar, second from the left) and a neighbour’s son are playing in the Netiv Meir band. In the last scenes where the background (lit scaffolding over the gutted shell of the Palace Hotel) appears to be moving, I was walking and recording a moving float. I also took about 700 photographs, so it was a busy evening.

An hour after I said goodbye to my son at the Old City, I got a call from him on a borrowed cellphone, saying that the driver had taken off with their equipment and that the police wanted a license number. So I sat on the steps of the Mamilla mall and went through two cards of photos, until I found a photo with a clear shot of the license plate.  If you’re curious, here’s a link to the photo.

The driver returned the equipment in the morning but my son’s amplifier had been stolen during the night. Someone untied it from the truck and walked away with it. My son also lost his cellphone (he left it on the truck). We’re not very happy about this and are trying to get some kind of compensation for the amplifier but it’s a real headache.

Update (May 21, 2010):

A Google search indicates that the owner of the truck company spent 2.5 years in jail for embezzlement. My husband spoke to him on the phone last night and got nowhere. I think we’ll just drop the matter. It’s not worth the headache for a relatively small sum of money. The boy who hired the truck said his uncle had used this company to have something delivered and had no idea, at the time, that he was dealing with a criminal. Chalk it up as a learning experience!

2 Responses to “Jerusalem Day Video”

  1. pam said

    What a disappointing ending for an otherwise great experience. But I think you are wise to let it go. Sometimes dealing with things like this can sap our energy way more than it is worth.

  2. Debbie said

    Very nice video, Avital. Fun! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
