This and That

Random bits of my life

Locked Out & Modeling the Orenburg Shawl

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 1, 2010

Masha and I got locked out of our new office this morning.

Wait, back up, Avital.

In our last installment of the Adventures of Yinnon and Masha (Yinnon’s birthday party), I mentioned that Yinnon and Masha were moving out of my room to the seventh floor. They finally moved at the end of last week. The big surprise was that I went with them. Two other technical writers were asked to move into the new room so that their seats could be given to systems engineers. One of the writers got quite upset about having to move. I had a look at the new room and decided to offer my old place to the miffed tech writer and move upstairs to be with my old office mates. (I wouldn’t move for just anyone, guys! I’ve been in that room for three years and loved it.) The fourth person, Chaim, was also a former office mate in that tiny office in the corner, so we all know each other’s foibles.

Chaim gave me a key to the room last night and I left it on my desk. We never locked our old room, so it never occurred to me that I would actually need to use it. Masha hadn’t yet come in since last week so she didn’t have a key. Chaim left last yesterday and locked the door.

We called security and waited. And waited.

I set up my tripod (which just proves that a girl should never go any place without her tripod) and cable release while the executives started arriving and went into the conference room at the end of the hall. We have a room in executive row, which is why we have a nice couch and painting above it; the rest of the building doesn’t look like this.

I took pictures. We were feeling sorry for ourselves. I’m on the right, in the green hat.

IMG_2170

Locked out of our room

IMG_2187

Locked out of our room

Security guy: “This is really your room?”

IMG_2200

The real reason I brought in my tripod and cable remote was so that I could photograph myself wearing the new shawl. So here it is, folks — me and the shawl.

Orenburg shawl

Oops — camera angle is a little low. Took this shot before I remembered to raise the tripod.

Orenburg shawl

Orenburg shawl

15 Responses to “Locked Out & Modeling the Orenburg Shawl”

  1. Debbie said

    Great photos, Avital! The shawl really is gorgeous.

  2. Jaya said

    Lovely shots! I love the shawl and the security guy. You and your office mate are having a lovely time (or so it seems) hamming it up for the camera. πŸ™‚

  3. Nancy said

    Your shawl is gorgeous!!

  4. Samina said

    That’s a lovely shawl & the beret’s tres chic on you! Enjoy your new digs.

  5. Betty Ann Rice said

    Avital, that’s a lovely color you used for the shaw, and a beautiful work of art you did. I’m so pleased to see young people have fun, and what about that good looking “suit?” By the way, a few years ago I did a shaw using fingering yarn just to see if I could do the pattern before tackling the very fine wool. I never got around to doing another one.

    • apinnick said

      By “suits,” we usually mean executives, even though executives in Israel don’t usually wear suits! The guy in the photo, although he’s wearing a jacket (to cover his gun) is a contracted guard. They come and go and we don’t see them a lot, so we almost never learn their names.

  6. Bev said

    Love it!

  7. bess said

    Totally, never leave home without your tripod πŸ˜‰
    The shawl is fabulous – swashbuckling even!
    (um, that would be an alligator scarf on Masha…?

  8. Beautiful! Your hard work paid off. Lovely to meet you in your nifty beret. Maybe you made it also?

  9. Shari Jaster said

    Gorgeous shawl. You do really fine work. I love your beret. It is so stylish and looks exquisite on you.

  10. pam said

    These must certainly rank as some of the best self-portraits out there! Great shots all! And the shawl – fabulous and amazing and beautiful! Love this post!

  11. maureen said

    Even more impressive when you model it. Well done

  12. Dot said

    Really beautiful, I have never tackled something as large in knitting and am in awe. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

 
