This and That

Random bits of my life

Beads and Braids

Posted by Avital Pinnick on September 16, 2013

IMG_8242.jpg

I photographed this woman in front of the Panama kiosk at Khutsot haYotser. I have a few shots of her smiling for me, but I liked this photo best. Look at that incredible beaded hair ornament she’s wearing. I wish I’d gotten a better look at it.

Bracelets from Peru:

IMG_8309.jpg

Huichol beadwork from Mexico.

IMG_8312.jpg

I bought the yellow necklace, second from the right. I hesitated at first and by the time I made up my mind (two days later), the best pieces were already gone. They really weren’t terribly expensive. The seller told me that they take about 40 hours to make (for a beginner, as long as 60 or 80 hours).

IMG_8307.jpg

A young girl had her hair braided at the Ethiopian kiosk. One of the advantages of living in Israel is that you can photograph someone’s kid and no one objects or even notices.

IMG_8300.jpg

And this is the woman who was braiding the girl’s hair. What a magnificent array of braids!

IMG_8302.jpg

One Response to “Beads and Braids”

  1. devraariel said

    The woman in the first photo doesn’t look real! She’s so beautiful.

    My daughters get their cornrows done by Ethiopian friends in Maale Adumim. 🙂

    On Mon, Sep 16, 2013 at 9:12 PM, This and Th

Leave a comment