This and That

Random bits of my life

Turned Two Corners of Orenburg Shawl

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 14, 2010

Orenburg Shawl

Yay! I finally started the body of the shawl. The photo above shows the edging. I knitted 34 repeats of the edging pattern, turned the first corner with short rows (half a repeat), picked up 273 stitches along the edge, picked up the cast-on stitches, turned the second corner, and started the body of the shawl. The cable of my circular 2.25mm needle feels rough. I suspect that it may have tiny breaks in the plastic. It’s an old Inox needle and I’d hate to have it fall apart while this shawl is on the needles. Fortunately, I have another circular needle this size.

This is the ill-fated Square Medallion Shawl that I began in April, 2010, in a linen thread that didn’t work out. The linen thread would probably have worked for a center out design, but it wasn’t elastic enough for picking up stitches from the edging. The pattern is the Square Medallion Shawl from The Gossamer Webs Design Collection: Three Orenburg Shawls to Knit.

Leave a Reply

 
