This and That

Random bits of my life

Sometimes Things Don’t Work Out…

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 22, 2010

IMG_6045

This is the square Orenburg shawl, moments before it was unraveled. It didn’t work out. See those deformed cats’ paws near the needle? That was the final straw. I finally faced the fact that this yarn, needle, and pattern were not a happy match.

The linen thread was working but not quite. It’s a little too slubby to knit up evenly. Sometimes I had to peel off 3-inch-long bits of unspun flax. I’m not sure the 2 mm nickel-plated Inox needle was such a good choice. It was a bit too slippery for me to knit fine yarn evenly and I think possibly it was a bit too small, although I did like the hole size in the swatches. The flip side is that if I were to have chosen a larger needle, the finished shawl would have been the size of a tablecloth. So either way there’s a trade-off. One thing’s for sure — I’m going to go back to my trusty, ancient aluminum-coated needles for my next attempt. You haven’t heard the last of this!

Shawl being unraveled with a ball-winder:

IMG_6047

The former shawl, reduced to its elements. The linen is a nice yarn but better suited for fine weaving. NO, I am not going to look for a 32-dent reed for my table loom so that I can knit a bunch of napkins. This thread would work for a doily or tablecloth, preferably knit from the center outwards. The thread doesn’t have enough stretch for knitting off the edging selvedge.

IMG_6050

The next possible substitute. I’ve had this yarn in my stash for about 15 years. It was an impulse buy in London on one of my first visits after I married an Englishman. Tonight I’ll cast on some stitches and see how the tension works with a 3 mm needle. Or maybe 2.5 mm.

IMG_6051

4 Responses to “Sometimes Things Don’t Work Out…”

  1. I have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about her (fortunate for me I think.. lol).. but it sure looks like one heck of a lot of work to not have it work out the way you’d hoped it would…

  2. Penelope said

    Do what makes you happier, Avital.
    You can always double the yarn to make it a little firmer if it’s very fine, like the 1 ply.

  3. […] is the ill-fated Square Medallion Shawl that I began in April, 2010, in a linen thread that didn’t work out. The linen thread would probably have worked for a center out design, but it wasn’t elastic […]

Leave a Reply

 
