This and That

Random bits of my life

Brno, Czech Republic

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 27, 2017

I went to Brno in the Czech Republic last week on a business trip, to meet my boss (yes, she lives in Brno — welcome to the modern world of remote working) and her team. Brno is the Czech Republic’s second largest town (about 600,000 people), the capital of Moravia, and the center for a lot of high-tech R&D. Its eleven universities, five of them specializing in IT, provide an abundance of student labour!

This is the Vegetable Market in the old part of the city, very close to where my apartment hotel was located. I was lucky with the weather. It was mostly sunny, some clouds, no rain. I took these photos with my new mirrorless camera, a Sony A6300 with 16-50mm kit lens.

Vegetable Market Square, Brno

Špilberk Castle, literally down the road from where I was staying. It’s surrounded by a network of paths that are popular with joggers. Actually, the joggers stick to the gravel paths rather than the cobblestones.

Špilberk Castle, Brno

At the end of my first day at Red Hat, Brno, I went out with a couple guys I had met at NHO in Munich for beer. Afterwards we walked around the castle at night. They told me that Brno is a very safe city and I noticed lots of people wandering around after dark or congregating in groups and drinking beer. Technically, it’s not legal to drink in public places but if you’re not creating a disturbance, the police tend to ignore it.

Špilberk Castle, Brno

Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul, literally next to the apartment hotel where I was staying.

Cathedral of Sts. Peter and Paul, Brno

Brno’s most famous son is Gregor Mendel, the geneticist. He was abbot of St. Thomas’s Abbey and conducted his plant-breeding experiments in the abbey’s garden.

St Thomas's Abbey, Brno

Art nouveau building on Verevi street, #14. I passed by this building every day on the #12 tram to Technology Park, so on my last day I walked along the tram route for several kilometers and photographed buildings.

Brno

Typical painted apartment buildings that you see all over the Czech Republic. They’re very cheerful and when the sun is shining, the streets look like boxes of pastel macaroons.

Painted Brno apartment buildings

Leave a Reply

 
