This and That

Random bits of my life

Book Cover

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 22, 2015

Book cover with my photo

This book with my photo on the cover arrived in the mail a couple days ago. I had totally forgotten about it! Last March a publisher asked for permission to use my photo of 18 Rama Street in Jerusalem (Nahlaot) for a book on house numbers. The photo she wanted wasn’t very good. It was a snapshot I’d taken while following a friend who was posing for his wedding photos. I said that I would be happy to re-take the photo, since I was going to be in the area anyway.

The location is tricky because the alley in front of the house is very narrow. An awning over the door casts a shadow. If you try to photograph the numbers at midday, the sun bounces off all the light stone of the surrounding buildings and creates an unpleasant contrast with the shadow of the awning. I took this photo at 9:30 a.m., while the sun was still relatively low.

The door is rather shabby, with bits of cellotape on the side and graffiti on the upper part. The graphic artist chose to use the dark blue door for the spine, which works very nicely. I haven’t read this book yet, but it looks interesting!

I’ve been rather quiet on this blog because I’m taking a break from photography. I was in a course that didn’t work out and it left me feeling burned out. I’ll get back to it eventually.

Rama 18, Jerusalem

5 Responses to “Book Cover”

  1. rifestitch said

    That’s pretty cool – that sounds like an interesting read! I hope you get back to your camera soon, you have such a great eye. But there are times where I just don’t see anything new that I haven’t already shot, so won’t touch mine for weeks…

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks for the encouragement. I’m waiting for unpleasant memories to fade. I also find that lately nothing is good enough, so I don’t post. Oh, well, there’s always that awkward point at which one’s taste outstrips one’s talent!

  2. Laurie Koretz said

    Mazal tov, Avital, on your beautiful photograph of house numbers. I also enjoy your comments on light and aesthetic considerations.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Laurie. I like to include these comments in case some of my friends in Israel want to take photos in the same area. It saves them a trip out with a camera if the only time they can get there is at 3pm. Another photographer had warned me about the problem with the harsh light and shadows but he hadn’t mentioned the narrow alley. If I wanted to photograph the entire house I would have needed an extreme wide-angle lens because the lane is only big enough for a car and pedestrians (it’s not used by cars normally).

  3. Adina said

    Even tho this original photo was taken before your course ‘trauma,’ its being published should be your inspiration to get back to it – you’re a presence out there!

Leave a Reply

 
