This and That

Random bits of my life

Life Goes On

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 10, 2014

Iron Dome, Jerusalem

This is a photo of one of the Iron Dome systems, taken from a window at work. It’s on a hillside in the valley near Ramot. I’ve never seen it in action, but I’ve heard it on the one occasion when I was at work during a missile attack.

Life goes on–ceasefire, rockets, ceasefire, rockets….

I’m slowly recovering from the whooping cough. I can do most things (including running) but occasionally I have a few nights of disrupted sleep and that wreaks havoc with my system, so it’s a long process of ups and downs. The coughing is still there but not as bad as three weeks ago.

The good news is that it looks like Hutzot haYotzer (Jerusalem International Arts & Crafts Fair) will be starting tomorrow as planned. (You should be very happy, Debbie!) I checked the Jerusalem Municipality site for the prices. Adult admission, including the concert, is 65 NIS. For the crafts fair alone, it’s 50 NIS. I think this is the first time I’ve seen a separate price, but they only started enforcing crowd control of the concert venue last year.

2 Responses to “Life Goes On”

  1. Debbie said

    Glad you’re feeling better, Avital. Yes, I am happy about the Chutzot Hayotzer. I did not have the chance to go last year, so I look forward to getting a chance to go one evening next week. This week I’ve got grandchildren here, using all my energy!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Word of advice. We showed up at 7 and the concert tickets were already gone, so if you plan to see one of the performers, I recommend that you either show up really early or book online at bimot.co.il (extra 5 NIS per ticket). As soon as we got home we booked tickets for a couple performers that we wanted to see. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

 
