This and That

Random bits of my life

War and Whooping Cough

Posted by Avital Pinnick on July 20, 2014

Summer ... another war

I haven’t blogged lately because I’ve been too busy with the war in Gaza and the war with whooping cough. My husband caught pertussis first, gave it to me, so we’re both coughing. I’ve learned some interesting things: childhood vaccinations against pertussis do not continue into adulthood. Pertussis can be difficult to diagnose because it starts out with cold-like symptoms and is easily mistaken for flu, asthma, bronchitis, and allergies. It is highly contagious and can be fatal to infants, so if you suspect that you have it (bad cough that goes on for weeks), go to your doctor. A three-day course of azithromycin will greatly shorten its duration and limit the contagion. You’ll still be coughing but not for as much as you would if you did nothing.

Here’s a cough remedy that is all over the Web. I found it helpful. It’s not too unpleasant to drink (like drinking a spicy vinaigrette) and it’s easy to make with kitchen ingredients. I wouldn’t give it to children, though. It’s too strong-flavoured for young palates and unpasteurized honey should never be given to young infants.

Cough Remedy

  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Combine the ingredients in a jar, close, and shake. take by the teaspoon.

I refrigerate mine, but I’ve heard that it’s fairly stable at room temperature. I will also be trying thyme tea, as soon as I can get my husband to pick some up at the healthfood store or the shuk.

We’re slowly getting used to the state of being at war again. August is usually filled with events that we look forward to all year, like the International Arts & Crafts Fair, the Wine Festival at the Israel Museum, various concerts. Almost everything has been cancelled and won’t be rescheduled in the foreseeable future.😦

One missile fell close to home. I was at work, getting ready to leave for the day, when the alarm sounded in Jerusalem. I grabbed my backpack and went into one of the internal staircases. I waited until I heard a couple explosions (Iron Dome intercepted two of the rockets) and then went out to catch the minibus. At the grocery store I ran into a neighbour who said that the siren had sounded in Maale Adumim, she heard a loud bang, and the ground shook. The rocket landed about a kilometer or two down the road. We’re not protected by the Iron Dome system.

Our son is halfway through his military service. We don’t see much of him these days. He works 12-hour shifts and tries to find time to call us every few days. I’m such a Jewish mother–I live on the top floor of a building that is about as well-constructed as a cardboard box; the other day I called him and demanded to know what the army was doing to keep him (and the other soldiers) safe. He reassured me that most of the time he works underground. During an air raid they all go underground. So even if my knitting goes up in a puff of smoke, at least my little boy is safe! Just kidding, folks. We hope this ends with as little loss of life as possible.

2 Responses to “War and Whooping Cough”

  1. Debbie said

    Refuah Shlema, Avital! Doesn’t sound good, hope the two of you shake it very soon.

    Where do you find what’s canceled? I haven’t found any change yet on the Iriyah site about the Chutzot Hayotzer. I wonder if they’re going to wait until the last minute. Did you read anything, anywhere?

    Neither of my sons have been called up, so far, BH. One son even had miluim scheduled last week and it was canceled.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      You won’t find an official announcement yet, not until the week before Hutzot haYotzer, but don’t hold your breath. Unless there’s a miracle (like Hamas declaring a ceasefire and actually honoring it, all large public gatherings will be cancelled. Also, it’s hard to imagine that all those international artists will fly over under these conditions.

      Hope your sons stay safe!

Leave a Reply

 
