This and That

Random bits of my life

Středověká krčma (Medieval Tavern) in Mala Strana

Posted by Avital Pinnick on March 17, 2014

IMG_0934.jpg

Back to Prague, and from the sublime to the ridiculous….

In addition to the State Opera and stunning Gothic architecture, Prague has a silly theme park side. Středověká krčma (literally “Medieval Tavern”) was very quiet when I visited it on Sunday morning. If you show up during the evening the web site advertises swordsmanship and “medieval” dancing (scroll down to the video of scantily clad fire dancers). I have no idea whether this tavern is really medieval. It has generally good reviews on Trip Advisor, but don’t expect the Prague State Opera. I wandered inside for about 3 minutes and took these photos at very high ISO because it was so dark.

I wish I had managed to get a better photo of this waitress. She was amazing.

IMG_0944.jpg

IMG_0938.jpg

IMG_0941.jpg

The decor is Neo-Torture Chamber. I think they used the same interior designer as the Red Keep. The room with the skulls in the ceiling is downstairs (I missed that somehow).

IMG_0940.jpg

IMG_0937.jpg

I guess he wasn’t a good tipper…

IMG_0949.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

 
