This and That

Random bits of my life

Inside the Astronomical Clock Tower

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 7, 2013

IMG_9960.jpg

I’ve always loved climbing towers, long before I took up photography as a hobby. When I was in Greece, I scaled acro-everything. That’s one of the reasons I adore Europe–so many things to climb! These photos show the ramp up to the top of the Old Town Hall tower. The curvy double-helix structure in the middle is the elevator. I’m glad that our visit post-dated the stairs, which had a bad reputation in guide books. They were described as rickety and very hard on the knees. The ramp made this tower one of the easiest I’ve ever climbed.

IMG_9961.jpg

These photos are somewhat out of order chronologically. Here’s the ceiling of the entrance hall.

IMG_9948.jpg

Unfortunately, the Senate and Council chambers were not open when we visited the tower, but I photographed the magnificent doorways in passing.

IMG_9955.jpg

IMG_9955.jpg

Detail of Senate door, showing date “1610.” (The Senate now meets in the Wallenstein Palace, across the river.)

IMG_9956.jpg

Leave a Reply

 
