This and That

Random bits of my life

“More is More” Shawl

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 24, 2013

More is More Shawl
After I got back from Prague, I caught a cold. One day when I happened to be at home during daylight hours and felt well enough to crawl out of bed, I photographed a shawl that I finished a couple months ago. Its name, “More is More” shawl, is tongue-in-cheek, because it started out as a Less is More shawl. However, I quickly grew bored with counting to four (four rows stockinette, four rows seed stitch, rinse and repeat) and started improvising. The shawl is knit with Aade Lõng Artistic 8/2 in “lamb.” The yarn is actually a bit darker than these photos appear. I should have shortened the exposure a bit (when I have time, I’ll fix them and replace these photos). It was much softer than the “rainbow” colourway. The shawl starts at one corner, increasing along the top edge, and worked to the opposite corner. Below: a row of eyelets, some random welts, an embossed heart pattern, couple bands of seed stitch, and directional eyelets.

More is More Shawl

More eyelets, an Orenburg-inspired diagonal peas pattern, more welts, and a picot cast-off.

More is More Shawl

More is More Shawl

<More is More Shawl

4 Responses to ““More is More” Shawl”

  1. You say that the color is bit darker, but from these photos, it also seems a bit on the purple side. Is that also the case?

Leave a Reply

 
