This and That

Random bits of my life

Dance of the Planets

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 26, 2013

Dance of the planets

Tonight, Jupiter, Venus, and Mercury formed a tight triangle over the horizon. If you have a clear view of the western horizon, you will be able to see this phenomenon until May 29. The last time this occurred was May 9, 2011. If you miss it this year, the next time will be Oct. 17, 2015, but you still have a couple nights!

It was surprisingly cold and windy on my balcony. I bundled up with a hat that covered my ears and kept my hair out of the way and a windbreaker. My camera was set up my sturdy tripod on the balcony, and I kept one hand on it at all times. The photo has not been cropped or altered.

One Response to “Dance of the Planets”

  1. pam said

    Thank you! I managed to miss it entirely thanks to PNW clouds.

Leave a Reply

 
