This and That

Random bits of my life

San Gimignano Snapshots

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 7, 2013

San Gimignano

More bits of San Gimignano that caught my eye during our brief visit.

If the window fastener of your medieval stone tower breaks, you can’t replace it with a stainless steel latch from the local hardware store:

San Gimignano

Zoomorphic shutter fastener. The head flips up to keep the shutters from blowing in the wind. You flip it down to close the shutters. (I only know how to work them from staying in hotels with far more prosaic shutter latches.)

San Gimignano

I love the combination of old stone and colourful flowers. The road slopes quite steeply.

San Gimignano

San Gimignano

Wolf carving and inscription near St. Matthew’s Gate:

San Gimignano

Drinking fountain outside the wall.

San Gimignano

Stuffed boars are very popular window displays in San Gimignano, usually in stores selling pasta and wine:

San Gimignano

Sometimes it’s hard to find a really good sword shop. Personally I think a Swiss Army knife is more practical.

San Gimignano

Paint bucket drummer outside St. Matthew’s Gate.

San Gimignano

2 Responses to “San Gimignano Snapshots”

  1. Debbie M said

    I’m sure you noticed this, Avital. I was struck by the design and the moldings of the windows in the first photo, so I found the enlargement in flickr. That’s when I noticed the window covers! Wow! I hope you don’t mind that I saved the photo in my Images for Inspiration folder on my computer.

Leave a Reply

 
