This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Rainbow Lights on Har Hotzvim Tower

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 28, 2013

Har Hotzvim, Jerusalem

I see this office tower (JTP or Jerusalem Technical Park) from my window all day at work. Over the past few months I noticed that sometimes, for no reason that I can fathom, the lights turn different colours. During Hanukkah they were quite festive! The light changes appear to be random, so I haven’t had much success making a video. Usually by the time I manage to get to a balcony on the other side of the building the lights have gone back to their normal blue colour.

On Sunday I noticed that the rainbow effect occurred at 5:47. Because I leave work at 6:00 p.m. and because the days are getting longer, I realised I only had another week or two to record the light changes if I didn’t want to stay late and wait for the sky to get dark. Yesterday the lights started turning funky colours around 5:15. I grabbed my camera and went to the balcony but it was too late. I decided to wait for the rainbow, on a cold outdoor balcony without a coat, and it occurred at 5:47 again.

Normally the lights seem to alternate between dark blue and turquoise. When the roof lights (blue spikes) go off, the rainbow starts. It only lasts for about a minute.

One Response to “Video: Rainbow Lights on Har Hotzvim Tower”

  1. rifestitch said

    Interesting – would be curious to know what the significance is of 5:47, if any. It’s a neat effect.

Leave a Reply

 
