This and That

Random bits of my life

A Little Knitting: Two Shawls

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 20, 2013

Rainbow Garden Path Shawl

Occasionally I even manage to finish some knitting projects. 🙂

Yarn is Aade Lõng Artistic 8/2, in “rainbow.” Pattern is Garden Path Shawl, a free Ravelry download, designed by Shui Kuen Kozinski.

I started the shawl on 4mm needles and found that the shawl was a bit denser than I liked, so I started over with 5 mm needles. The yarn has a coarse texture. I don’t recommend it for a garment worn next to the skin, but it is superb for outer wear, like shawls and cardigans. Knitting is a lot like photography. If you want interesting results, you have to bend/break the rules occasionally. Conventional wisdom says to use the needle written on the yarn band and not to combine colourwork and lace. But if you’re not getting the result you want, start over with a different needle. If this yarn were very soft, like Merino, it would probably not be able to support the more open texture created by the larger needle size. Happily, the yarn has enough body to hold its shape.

The pattern was modified somewhat. I didn’t have enough yarn to do the entire pattern (but the shawl is large enough for me) and I’m not fond of pointy ends in stripes, so the bottom edge is cast off as a straight edge, after the second-last rose repeat.

Orenburg Honeycomb Shawl

Orenburg Honeycomb Shawl, from Piecework, May/Jun 2010. Yarn is JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18 and a ball of knitting-machine yarn, doubled. This shawl took a long time because both yarns are very fine and I was using 2.5 mm needles.

3 Responses to “A Little Knitting: Two Shawls”

  1. Debbie M said

    Beautiful, Avital! I love anything in rainbow colors, so can you please send the shawl to me?:) I’ve downloaded the pattern, I really like the unusual lace design. I’m also not crazy about pointed edges. Too much work in the blocking.

  2. pam said

    Again I ask the question – is there anything at all that you do not do well?

    Both of these – simply gorgeous. And I love the way in which you chose to share them.

Leave a Reply

 
