This and That

Random bits of my life

Good-bye, Orenburg Shawl (= Starting Over)

Posted by Avital Pinnick on November 11, 2012

Last look at shawl

Here’s a photo of the shawl before I ripped it. Why did I decide, in the end, to rip it instead of repairing the hole? I was extremely nervous about the fact that (a) the hole was close to the start of the shawl and (b) this has never happened to a project of mine before. It occurred to me (and a friend suggested it) that the yarn may have weakened over time. I’ve had this cone of lace-weight wool for close to 20 years. So I ripped out the entire shawl (took several hours, believe it or not!) until I reached the hole, only about 3 inches from the start of the first edging. Sure enough, the yarn was slightly brittle. I reeled and tested, reeled and tested, until I got through about 20-30 yards. When the yarn seemed to be reasonably sound, I cast on and started knitting again. So far, 10 teeth of the edging. Another 26 teeth to go, before I turn the corners. This is truly a long-term project!

6 Responses to “Good-bye, Orenburg Shawl (= Starting Over)”

  1. Debbie said

    I find that whenever I ‘undo’ something made from a very thin yarn like this one, I need to wash it to straighten it out. Otherwise, it doesn’t look right when re-knitting with it. Do you do that?

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Hmmm. maybe I should. Thanks for the suggestion. How do you recommend washing several thousand yards of laceweight yarn? It’s a bit bulky for my niddy noddy…..

      • Debbie said

        First I would admit that I would have to do it in multiple hanks and then attach yarn as I go while knitting. As if I had originally bought lots of balls or hanks instead of a large cone. Then I would divide it all up into hanks. Rinse each one individually, carefully keeping it untangled and then drape it, dripping, over a hanger to dry. It requires some patience, but I find it fascinating to see the yarn look like new!

        If you have a niddy noddy and a ball winder, it shouldn’t be too difficult to deal with. I don’t have any of that equipment and do everything by hand. I don’t feel I do enough knitting to justify the expense.Yet. I once put out a request on a local email list, to borrow one, but never got any replies. So, I continue to wind on my own. I’ve got it down pat.

  2. Judy Montel said

    My dear, you are a saint and a tzadika – may your patience and care be rewarded in all areas of your life – and thanks for being an inspiration!

  3. rifestitch said

    I can’t even imagine undoing all of that fabulous work – but I do understand why! Good luck, I look forward to seeing it come back together!

  4. pam said

    I have such admiration for your resolve to start again. I don’t believe – actually I am 100% certain – I would not have ripped it all out and begun again. You are again my hero!

Leave a Reply

 
