This and That

Random bits of my life

Recipe: Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Posted by Avital Pinnick on September 24, 2012

Slow Cooker

(Photo: Slow cooker with Picasa fake HDR filter) This is the recipe I pull out whenever I need to cook for a crowd. The slow cooker works wonders on tougher cuts of meat, so I use shoulder roast (#5, in Israel). I made it for Rosh Hashana, but it would be welcome for cool evenings in the sukkah.

I use a mandolin to julienne the carrots but you could use a food processor if it has a julienne blade. If you want to slice the carrots, you’ll have to add them earlier in the cooking process. The garlic may turn a distressing shade of blue-green but it will look normal by the time the meat is cooked.

The roast is not easy to slice while it’s hot. I prefer to cook it a day or two in advance and slice it when it’s cold (I don’t bother thickening the sauce with cornstarch if the roast is going to sit in the fridge).

Slow Cooker Pot Roast
Serves 6-8.

1.5 kg boneless shoulder roast
2 large onions, thinly sliced
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup cider vinegar
2 bay leaves
3 large cloves garlic, finely minced
1 cup julienned carrots
2 cups sliced mushrooms (white button or porcini or a combination)
2 tbs cornstarch, dissolved in 1/4 cup cold water (optional)

Place the meat in the slow cooker and top with sliced onions. Combine brown sugar, soy sauce, and cider vinegar and pour over the meat. Add bay leaves and minced garlic.

Cover and cook on high for 6-7 hours or until meat is very tender.

Add mushrooms and carrots and cornstarch mixture (if using) and cook for another half hour. Serve with rice.

One Response to “Recipe: Slow Cooker Pot Roast”

  1. pam said

    I gave up trying to make anything in a slow cooker years ago – never tasted right. But a recipe from you has turned my head and I will definitely give it a try. You have NEVER steered me wrong with any recipe you have shared. And – this does sound yummy. AND pot roast is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

 
