This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Hutzot haYotzer 2012, Eastern European Dance

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 24, 2012

 

I was impressed by the intricate steps done with groups of three. That was new to me, but I’m not a folk dance maven.

I have no idea which country this dance troupe is from because I couldn’t see a sign. There might have been one but the little square was so crowded that I only managed to stand in one corner, with the speakers partially blocking the view.

3 Responses to “Video: Hutzot haYotzer 2012, Eastern European Dance”

  1. pam said

    Loved the video! I would guess maybe Finnland and I would probably be completely wrong!!!

    Reminded me how much i loved folk dancing when I was a kid – the music, learning the steps, wearing pretty costumes, preforming and the whole experience of being part of a group of dancers whirling and twirling together.

    Thank you! i had forgotten!

  2. Jennifer said

    Hi there … the dance is Romanian – I also used to do a lot of folk dancing … mostly Eastern European … and some Israeli.

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks! That makes sense — the Romanian table was right across the aisle from the dance floor and the ladies were wearing folk costumes. I should have checked my photos of the Romanians.

Leave a Reply

 
