This and That

Random bits of my life

Il Papiro – Paper Store in Florence

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 16, 2012

Il Papiro, Florence

Il Papiro is a chain of stationery stores based in Florence. They have six branches in Florence, two in Venice, and others in Rome, Pisa, even New York and Melbourne. The store is larger than it appears from the street, because it goes back quite a distance and there’s another room at the back. The back room has shelves of linen towels and albums. They also sell pens, notepaper, blank books, cards, bookmarks, art supplies, the list goes on…..

This branch was only two doors from our hotel, the Gioia, on Via Cavour. By the way, if you need a good 3-star hotel in Florence, I recommend it. It has a small number of rooms (28), courteous and helpful staff, fresh espresso/cappucino around the clock and free with breakfast, free WiFi, and a great location — 15 minutes’ walk from the train station, 15 minutes from the Great Synagogue and kosher market, and 10 minutes from the Duomo. The rooms are quite basic but clean. The WiFi is available in the room, not only the lobby. You’ll be happy to hear that the serial killer museum mentioned in some of the reviews (see Google street view) has been replaced by this delightful paper shop.

Il Papiro, Florence

It’s a little pricey but if you’re looking for unusual, reasonably priced souvenirs that don’t weigh much, bookmarks (both leather and paper), blank books and cards are an option. They even sell beautiful linen twoels (real linen!), displayed in the window below, but that was beyond my budget. I bought a few paper bookmarks, like the ones  mounted on the green background, and a couple leather bookmarks decorated with strips of marbled paper.

Il Papiro, Florence

An English-speaking Japanese woman who has been living and working in Florence for eight years demonstrated marbling.

Il Papiro, Florence

She dripped paint over a tray of water thickened with some substance:

Il Papiro, Florence

She asked me to choose a comb. I chose the fine one, in the background of this photo:

Il Papiro, Florence

She drew a stick through the floating paint vertically, before spreading the paint with the comb in a horizontal motion.

Il Papiro, Florence

Paint after passing a comb through it:

Il Papiro, Florence

Finished paper. I should have asked her for it but I didn’t think of it at the time. She told the man at the counter that it “troppo verde” (“too green”) but I thought the design was quite nice.

Il Papiro, Florence

Other marbled paper, already dried and rolled.

Il Papiro, Florence

6 Responses to “Il Papiro – Paper Store in Florence”

  1. Neat store – I have to stay out of places like that, as I have a tendency to buy note cards that I then hate to use up :) LOVE the marbled paper – that would be fun to do :)

  2. pam said

    I am sending a link right over to Diane to be sure she doesn’t miss this! She would have been in heaven joining you in this shop. And I could have spent hours just watching the marbled paper process.

    Thank you!

  3. Wow, I am totally booking a flight RIGHT NOW. :-) Thank you for sharing your wonderful adventures in this amazing place!

  4. Lila said

    I loved that shop, near the Pitti Palace. Wonderfull paper, (made by this japanese lady) which I bought for my books. I felt so happy when I saw the whe process of the paper, I just couldn’t believe it. If you need hand-made paper, that is the place!!!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      I don’t think it’s the same branch. The one I was in was on the other side of the Arno, on Via Cavour. There’s also a branch in the Piazza Duomo. Still, it’s interesting that we each saw a Japanese lady. Was she the same one? I suppose that since they are a chain, the staff could move around between branches. Most of their branches are in Florence.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

