This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Burano Lacemaker

Posted by Avital Pinnick on July 6, 2012


 
Back to the Italy vacation photos and videos…. I shot this short clip of a needle lacemaker at the Burano Lace Museum. The lacemaker is working on a fan for framing, not for mounting on fan sticks. She has already worked the design itself and is couching the cordonnet thread as an outline to emphasize the design. As I said in an earlier posting (with more photos of this piece), I was a little disappointed not to see her work that amazingly even reseau ground but I can’t blame her for choosing a fairly mindless task, since she knew that dozens of schoolchildren and tourists would be crowding around, taking photos and asking questions.

The background noise was distracting (moving furniture, shutter clicks from other tourists), so I added one of YouTube’s audio tracks. It’s a pity there’s no way to do a decent fade-out, but you get what you pay for.

You must be thinking I’ll never get out of Venice. It’s true that I did take a lot of photos of Venice and surrounding islands when I was there but actually we only spent three nights in Venice. I haven’t started the Florence photos yet! But I was more restrained in Florence. We were trying to fit so much into our brief stay in Venice (Venice, Lido, Burano, Murano, the Jewish Museum, San Marco, the Doge’s Palace), so we had to slow down in Florence.

I’m slowly recovering from whatever bug I caught on the flight back from Heathrow last week. I feel like I’ve been trampled by a herd of stampeding rhinoviruses….

Leave a Reply

 
