This and That

Random bits of my life

The Decayed Beauty of Venice

Posted by Avital Pinnick on June 19, 2012

Blue Door, Venice

You probably know, without my telling you, that Venice has more problems with dampness in buildings than most parts of the world. The perpetual moisture causes paint to blister, plaster to crack and flake, and wood to rot. Many of the buildings are crumbling before our eyes, but the slow decay creates amazing textures and colours around the windows and doors. I photographed a few windows, grills, and walls while walking along the canals.

Red Wall with Windows

Venice Canal

Grill in Red Wall

Door in Yellow Wall

Venice

8 Responses to “The Decayed Beauty of Venice”

  1. jensine said

    I so want to go there, maybe I’ll make it this year … these photos make me want it even more

  2. very nice captures! Indeed, the houses look like they would have been a lot older than they probably are

  3. LOVE the blue door shot – it also reminds me of the desert southwest here, with those colors 🙂 Kinda makes you wonder how Venice still stands, doesn’t it?

  4. jtorgler said

    Beautiful photos! It’s wonderful looking at them, and am thankful I don’t live inside any of them! (crumble, crumble, splash!)

  5. itsb24mark said

    Venice is one of those places that beg for your camera to be permanently at your eye. I particularly like your window-grating image. We were in Venice earlier in June on a return visit. The cruise ships have made a huge difference. Important to the city for revenue and commerce but one did occasionally wish that the crocadile queues of apparently uncomprehending trudging ‘if it’s Tuesday it must be Venice’ souls would just let the fading beauty fade gracefully and stay aboard ship, with their water slides and video games. Or perhaps I’m just getting old…

  6. pam said

    I love having all of these images in one post – which also went into the escape folder.

    I am pretty sure I marked every single one of these as favorites over at flickr. You have done a fantastic job with these old buildings and doorways and windows. A visual feast.

Leave a Reply

 
