This and That

Random bits of my life

Sunset over Arno River, Florence

Posted by Avital Pinnick on June 17, 2012

Sunset over Arno River, Florence

Another photo slightly out of order. It was just easier to deal with the sunset photos first because one has to take so many frames as the sun goes down! It’s a lot of clutter, so I processed the sunset photos first.

I joined the herd of photographers on the terrace of Piazzale Michelangelo, a well-known photog hang-out, waiting for the sun to go down. There was a bank of low-lying cloud that obscured the sun, but just after it disappeared behind the purple cloud the Arno river lit up with unbelievable reds and blues. The bridge in front is the well-known Ponte Vecchio, covered with jewelry shops. The center of the bridge is empty, allowing hundreds of tourists to gather there, illuminating the night with their little point-and-shoot camera flashes, like a cluster of fireflies.

While I was taking photos, two Chinese girls beside me were trying very hard to photograph each other and I could tell, from the tone of their voices, that they weren’t very happy. The flash was getting on people’s nerves, so I turned and said, “Excuse me, but you’ll get much better results if you turn off the flash.” The girl said, “I don’t know how,” so I turned it off for her (it was a Canon DSLR, probably the same model as mine — every tourist in Italy seemed to have one). They struggled a few more minutes with the camera and they still weren’t happy. So I offered to take a couple photos of them (switched to night portrait mode) with the Duomo in the background. They were very happy and went away. 🙂  Truly a win-win situation.

A young Israeli woman who was near them thanked me for helping them and we started chatting about cameras. When she told me that she had paid 11,000 NIS (about $3,000) for her L-class lens, I was pleased that my husband was standing nearby. Afterwards he said, “I thought YOUR equipment was expensive.” I just smiled and said, “I’m not in that league….”

Leave a Reply

 
