This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Fig Tree Photo Series, Spring 2012

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 14, 2012

I took a series of photos of a fig bud and a fig tree from February 14 to May 8, 2012, in the courtyard of the building where I work. Unfortunately, I assumed that this series would be finished (and the tree in full leaf) by Passover. I was wrong, so there is a noticeable gap where I wasn’t around for 8 days. Moral of the story: pick a tree closer to home.

I took the photos at roughly the same time each morning, but you can tell that it took me a while to figure out where to stand so that I could get a consistent results. The tree photos are all over the place, but leaving a camera and tripod set up for three months at work was not an option…. So I’ll have to be more careful about that in the future. I’ve already got next year’s tree picked out, with a couple other possible candidates and I’ve set a reminder in my calendar for next February.

Not much happens for the first half of the series, so the early pictures are more of a testimony to my sheer stubbornness. Every morning I would get my espresso in the dairy cafeteria and walk outside to the courtyard to photography “my” tree, sometimes borrowing umbrellas from co-workers. It is  interesting to see the changes in the weather and the ground cover and other trees.
 
 

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
