This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Happy 64th Birthday, Israel!

Posted by Avital Pinnick on April 26, 2012

In Israel, Memorial Day for Israel’s fallen soldiers comes right before Independence Day. Firework displays are held all over the country, so we made our annual trek up the hill to watch the fireworks in the center of Maale Adumim. This year I decided to do something a little different — a video instead of photos.

We were very close to the site. I had to clean ashes off my lens in the morning. In some parts the video looks out of focus because there was so much smoke hanging in the air (the strong wind had died down). Some of the fireworks exploded so close to the ground that the guys down in the wadi had to run around extinguishing the little brush fires. The colours were much more intense in real life, of course. If I try this again, I may lower the exposure compensation so that the highlights don’t get blown out quite so badly.

2 Responses to “Video: Happy 64th Birthday, Israel!”

  1. Debbie said

    Great video, Avital! We see the Har Herzl fireworks from the back of our building, but it’s nothing like this. You captured it well!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Debbie. It’s funny, but every time I photograph the Maale Adumim fireworks, I always wondered whether I was missing something really spectacular at Har Herzl. I should look on YouTube! It was a good show.

Leave a Reply

 
