This and That

Random bits of my life

Photo Walk, Passover 2012

Posted by Avital Pinnick on April 11, 2012

Bird of Paradise

I had planned to visit the Ein Hod artists’ colony today but my plans fell through. A friend in Maale Adumim suggested a photo walk together, since she was planning to go out to photograph a few flowers anyway. So we wandered around central Maale Adumim and took a few photos in the early afternoon. Afterwards I walked to the mall to buy some fish for yom tov lunch.

The first photo I got was a young gazelle buck grazing close to haGittit Street. This was about as challenging as photographing a cow at a dairy. He didn’t know he was supposed to bound away over the hills. After a while I started posing the critter, by walking to the other side and making chirping noises so that he would turn his head towards me. I like this photo because you can see his budding horns quite clearly.

Young gazelle buck

Poppies in the ruins of the St. Martyrius Monastery, which I’ve never seen. (Need to find a tour group that’s going there.)

Poppies in the ruins

Succulent plant

Three gerbera

Rose with split toning:

Rose

Kalanchoe flowers:

Kalanchoe flowers

Bird of Paradise

Palm fronds

Sun flare through palm leaves

Masses of flowers on the road divider between the mall and the library.

Masses of Flowers

Masses of Flowers

The Death Star. It’s a disco ball hanging in front of a big digital screen with ads running all the time. I underexposed it to make it look a little more mysterious:

The Death Star

6 Responses to “Photo Walk, Passover 2012”

  1. The Kalanchoe flowers photo is really beautiful!

  2. pam said

    Well! I was going to select a favorite – but now i see I have five or six contenders!!! I would say you have had a gratifying day making images!

    Loved the black and white! The subject seems a favorite among photographers, but your composition and lighting – quite stunning.

    It is just so lovely to see warm dsunshine and beautiful flowers – something we haven’s experienced in some time up here in the PNW!!

    So this thank you is especially heartfelt from someone who feels like she is about to be covered in moss!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Covered in moss? I had to think hard about that until I remembered the amount of rain you get over there. I miss rain like that. It’s a pity we can’t exchange our environments for a couple weeks a year as a break from the desert/soggy coast. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to comment!

  3. jtorgler said

    Your photos are better than real life!!! Absolutely phenomenal 🙂

  4. Adina said

    I finally found time to look at these more closely – unbelievable! I’d love to buy and frame some of these! (We’ll talk….)

Leave a Reply

 
