This and That

Random bits of my life

Countdown to Passover 5572

Posted by Avital Pinnick on April 5, 2012

Kashering Dishes for Passover

There must be a universal law that when you’re kashering the kitchen (cleaning the oven, turning the stove on full blast) and kashering dishes (waiting in line beside huge propane burners while yeshiva students dunk your dishes in boiling water) that the weather shall turn hot. It’s hot in Maale Adumim. I live next to a mikveh where they set up the kashering station. I hear the propane burners start at 9 a.m. and they burn all day, until around 10 p.m. I’m lucky — I have a strapping teenage son who does the hot, dirty jobs for me and carries home the heaviest groceries. (I won’t be so lucky next year, when he goes into the army.)

Kashering Dishes for Passover

Kids always hang around to watch. They’re bored, too young to help with much cleaning, and they have to eat outside anyway, so they gather around the steps of the mikveh.

IMG_2937

Here’s something I haven’t seen before: pre-cut celery for Passover. For the truly busy hostess….

Pre-cut Passover Celery

When I went for a run this morning, before the heat became intense, I saw two gazelles grazing among the purple flowers (desert rocket). I only had a little point-and-shoot camera with me, so this has been cropped and is a bit grainy.

Gazelles and Flowers

As of today I’m off work for the Passover holiday. This week we had a celebration in the dairy cafeteria. I didn’t have any wine because I was working on some financial documents but the nut tarts were good.

Wine Glasses

Pastries, pre-Passover celebration at work

One Response to “Countdown to Passover 5572”

  1. jtorgler said

    That last picture of all the sweet goodies has my mouth watering! It’s so fun to see people celebrating together in love for one another and for Yeshua! Happy Passover celebration 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
