This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Independence Day (Yom Atzmaut) Rehearsal at Har Herzl

Posted by Avital Pinnick on April 4, 2012

My officemate thinks that Israel probably has one of the worst marching armies in the world because they hardly ever march. After Baruch and I hiked through the Jerusalem Forest, we walked through Yad Vashem to Har Herzl. We saw soldiers rehearsing for Independence Day (Yom Atzmaut) ceremonies. I tried translating the directions and eventually gave up. It maked me very glad that I will never have to march in public.

Soldiers Rehearsing for Yom Atzmaut (Independence Day)

Har Herzl is Jerusalem’s military cemetery. Heads of state and other important people are buried there, along with thousands of soldiers (I didn’t see that part).

Golda Meir’s grave:

IMG_2629

Leave a Reply

 
