This and That

Random bits of my life

Flowers, Flowers, Flowers!

Posted by Avital Pinnick on March 5, 2012

IMG_1570

Who would have guessed that after the snow in Jerusalem and sleet in Maale Adumim we would have flowers so soon? I took all these wildflower photos today. The first 8 photos were taken in Maale Adumim with a Canon Powershot S95. I wish I were more knowledgeable about them! There were others that I didn’t photograph because I’ve got so many pictures of them in other years. Some of these were totally new to me, like the tiny red ones in the second photo.

IMG_1595

IMG_1580

IMG_1576

IMG_1551

IMG_1560

IMG_1565

The following photos were taken in a large park close to where I work. It’s not easy to get around because it doesn’t have footpaths. The single-lane road is busy. I think it would be better described as a conservation area than a park. Emek Erezim (Valley of Cedars) is located between Har Hotzvim and Ramot in Jerusalem, right beside the Menachem Begin – Golda Meir interchange. I was breaking my head over a software problem and wanted fresh air, so I took my camera and wandered outside for about half an hour. These photos were taken with a Canon 550D and 18-135mm lens.

IMG_1133

Patch of wild cyclamen:

Wild Cyclamen

IMG_1132

Red anemone:

Red Anemone

Red Anemones

I saw a larger patch of anemones on my way back to work. I want to try photographing it another day.

One Response to “Flowers, Flowers, Flowers!”

  1. pam said

    Oh how i wish i could join you with my own camera! I love wild flowers and miss all the many species that grow in more desert like locations.

    Thank you for sharing your images. I am unfamiliar with most of these and it is a real treat to see them. Sigh. Our southwestern deserts are probably just about ready to bloom now as well.

Leave a Reply

 
