This and That

Random bits of my life

Orenburg Honeycomb Scarf

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 3, 2012

Honeycomb Scarf

I need another knitting project, right? Actually, I had a problem — I have two balls of lace-weight yarn (blue Jaggerspun Zephyr and a ball of purple machine-knitting yarn), not enough to make a scarf individually, but together they will be sufficient. I’ve alternated two rows of blue with two rows of purple. I wanted another lace project, one that I could carry around and wouldn’t require a chart.

I found the gauge to be a little “off” from my own. I am using size 2 (2.75 mm) needles and cast on 106 stitches for a 19″ wide scarf or shawl. The original pattern called for 130 stitches, which produced much too wide a shawl. If I had access to more of this yarn I might have knitted it as a stole, but I was concerned that I wouldn’t have enough yarn to complete the project.

The “Orenburg Honeycomb Lace Scarf to Knit,” by Galina A. Khmeleva, is published in PieceWork magazine (May/June 2010). At the moment, this back issue is still in stock. It’s their third annual lace issue, with an article on Herbert Niebling and a pattern for the lovely bag on the cover.

One Response to “Orenburg Honeycomb Scarf”

  1. pam said

    The colors are beautiful together.

Leave a Reply

 
