This and That

Random bits of my life

Real Life Intrudes

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 24, 2012

Rosemary flowers

I snapped this photo of a rosemary bush at the bus stop on my way to the hospital yesterday. The rosemary photo is a bit over-exposed but I didn’t have a lot of time to fix it because I had to get on the bus.

I had foot surgery a year ago to correct a bunion (it was complicated surgery, because I’d had the bunion repaired years ago and it eventually came back, which it often does). Yesterday’s operation was to take out the hardware in my foot.

Here’s a photo of me waiting around in the day surgery area of Hadassah Mt. Scopus. I’ve had better days. This isn’t me looking my best. It was a long wait and I was tired. At least I had a comfortable chair to rest in. The red thing by my side is my camera case. Baruch took the photo.

I've had better days....

Here’s the stuff they took out of my foot. The bits are quite small, but it’s hard to tell because there’s nothing in the photo for scale:

Hardware from my foot

So I’m at home now and doing well. I have a big bandage on my right foot and wear one of those ugly surgical shoes and hobble around mostly with one crutch. I can put a little weight on the foot, which makes balancing and moving around vastly easier than when you can’t put your weight on one foot. So far I haven’t had any serious pain! (I keep expecting it to hit like a sledge-hammer out of the blue….) I took a couple painkillers before bed, as instructed, slept like a log, and haven’t taken anything since.

I’m off work for a couple weeks, with the follow-up scheduled for Feb. 8. In the meantime, I’ve been doing some knitting, embroidery, watching shows, and wasting time on Facebook….

4 Responses to “Real Life Intrudes”

  1. May God richly bless you with quick healing… I love your photos!!!

  2. pam said

    Gasp! All that hardware is freaking me out! I do hope it really is much smaller than it appears because from where i sit, it is scary!

    Now I must say this! You want to tell us how in the world you can look so good in a surgical gown and “shower” cap? It is not fair!

    I am so glad to know the healing is progressing without too much discomfort.

    • Avital said

      The wires are about the size of pieces of a paper clip after it’s been bent and broken. The largest screw is probably big enough to hang a small picture on the wall. I’m surprised that it could fit into a foot bone! Hey, I could use it to put up a decoration in my bathroom because they’re stainless steel and won’t rust! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
