This and That

Random bits of my life

Modular Knitting with Mitered Squares

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 22, 2012

Modular sweater

Does anyone remember the modular mitered square knitting craze a few years ago? It was great for using up odd bits of yarn. This turquoise sweater was knitted mainly from a beloved but very worn sweater that I knitted from Tahki Donegal Tweed yarn when I was in grad school. The sweater had lost its shape and the yarn was becoming faded and brittle around the neck and cuffs, so I unraveled it and reknitted it into this sweater, along with bits of my stash.

Here’s a view of the back:

Modular sweater

This purple vest has a similar origin. I had knitted a short-sleeve sweater around the same time, back at Harvard, and it was getting a bit worn. Also, the sleeves were a bit shorter than I liked, since I wasn’t religious in those days. I unraveled the yarn and it sat in balls in my closet for years, until a friend gave me a variegated yarn purple, blue and green yarn. This variegated yarn had a matte finish, in contrast to the mercerized cotton of my purple sweater. I used a repeating heart-shaped module for the front and back.

modular vest

Modular vest

I noticed recently that I have very few photographs of all the things I’ve knitted over the years, so I’m slowly trying to record these things.

If you’re interested in learning the basics of modular knitting, Vivian Hoxbro’s Domino Knittingis an excellent, clearly written guide.

For eye candy, check out Horst Schulz’s books:

There are a few newer books. I haven’t read them, so I can’t vouch for their contents but they look interesting!

I found a few sites with patterns:

http://blog.nobleknits.com/2009/04/two-mitered-square-knitting-projects.html

http://atelier918.typepad.com/portableknitting/2006/04/mitered_square_.html

http://www.knittingdaily.com/blogs/daily/archive/2010/06/23/modular-knitting.aspx

and a video with Eunnu Jang:

That should be enough to get you started!

Tomorrow I’ll be literally off my feet for a while. I’m having surgery on my right foot, the same one that was operated on a year ago for a bunion. This time I’m having the pins and hardware taken out, so I’ll be off work for a couple weeks. Feel free to come by with offerings of chocolate and sushi. 🙂 (Not together, mind you….)

6 Responses to “Modular Knitting with Mitered Squares”

  1. Miriyummy said

    That purple vest is simply gorgeous, and giving me “cheshek” to do a little modular work (although I am working on a mitered baby blanket at the moment).

    Good luck tomorrow on your surgery, and enjoy the recuperation time. What are you planning to do while off your tootsies?

  2. Debbie M said

    Refuah Shlema, Avital. Your modular knitting came out great. I have planned to try it. One of these days…

  3. Adina said

    These sweaters are unbelievably beautiful and can all be sold at any upscale boutique of handmade items in Jerusalem – for LOTS of shekels! Kol hakavod (kudos)!

    • Avital said

      Thanks, Adina! I get a lot of comments on the blue sweater when I wear it outside work and my neighbourhood.. That one really appeals to my thrifty nature because I used a lot of bits of yarn that weren’t long enough for anything else.

Leave a Reply

 
