This and That

Random bits of my life

Happy New Year! (Better Late Than Never)

Posted by Avital Pinnick on January 10, 2012

First sunrise of 2012

First sunrise of 2012! In Israel, January 1 is just an ordinary working day, so no parties, champagne, carousing for me last night. I got up early for a walk and got this photo of the sun peeking over blocks of flats in the Nofei Sela neighbourhood of Maale Adumim. I’ve been very busy at work with courses (one in UML and the other in HTML5), so I haven’t had much energy for creative projects.

I did remember to photograph my blooming cactus. A piece of cardboard is propping up the branch. The background is a scratched-up magnet board (I really need to buy a piece of black cardstock). The light is an ordinary fluorescent desk lamp. When you push up the black levels, the scratches and dust on the magnet board disappear! 🙂

Christmas Cactus

3 Responses to “Happy New Year! (Better Late Than Never)”

  1. Wow! How gorgeous can you get? Love both photos… God is so loving and it shows through HIS creations 🙂 Wonderful photos 🙂

  2. Oh, these are great photos. Love the cactus flower, and love pushing up the black. 🙂

  3. Joke Stoffels said

    I wish you a very happy new year too. Thank you for the beautiful pictures and I hope you ‘ll
    have much success in all the things you do this year. Greetings , Joke, the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

 
