This and That

Random bits of my life

Finished: Quilted Platter Cover

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 24, 2011

Finished platter cover

A platter cover is used to keep food hot while it sits on an electric warming tray during Shabbat. This is a house-warming gift for Beverly, a friend and neighbour. The construction is extremely simple: a patchwork top, an old towel for insulation, and a scorch-proof fabric lining are layered, quilted with a few lines of machine stitching, and bound like a quilt. Because sewing isn’t allowed during festivals, I cut the fabric just before the Sukkot holiday and put it away. After the holiday was over, while I was tackling the mountain of laundry, I sewed the strips of fabric into a random patchwork.

Beverly said she likes blues and purples, so I used some of the fabric I bought at the Jerusalem Quilters’ Retreat (no, I don’t belong to the organization; I just went over to buy some fabric and a few notions).

Fabrics for Platter Cover

Finished top

The walking foot I ordered from the US arrived!

New walking foot

I photographed it yesterday morning and dropped it off in the evening. They were very pleased with it and I was happy with the results, although the couple hours I spent finishing the binding by hand were brutal. Even with a thimble, it’s not easy to push a needle through the tightly woven lining fabric to make hundreds of invisible stitches, 1/8″ apart. But it’s a great way to recycle old towels!

One Response to “Finished: Quilted Platter Cover”

  1. pam said

    Love how this turned out! This is one of my favorite kinds of patterns – because it preserves the apttern and integrity of the original fabric. I am sure your friend will enjoy it for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

 
