This and That

Random bits of my life

Video: Jerusalem Sukkot March, 2011

Posted by Avital Pinnick on October 21, 2011

I made this short, 3.5-minute video of some of the highlights of the Jerusalem Sukkot march on Wednesday, October 18, 2011. My favourite bit was the Israel Dairy Board workers chanting “Eretz zavat chalav! Moo moo! Zavat chalav!” (translation: “Land flowing with milk. Moo moo! Flowing with milk”), as they carried a papier mache cow.

We were standing on King David Street, close to the Agron Street intersection. In retrospect it wasn’t a good location because the street had strong shadows from the buildings, with sunlight bouncing off the higher stories. We were close to the end of the route, when many of the marchers seemed rather tired. I was dodging around another photographer, an English tourist with a Canon 5D Mark II, who was trying to stand in a lot of the same places I was. You can see his L-class lenses in the edge in some of the frames. Me, envious? You bet! I would love to have a camera that would let me take both stills and video, instead of juggling the DSLR 450D and the PowerShot S95. 🙂

Because of these limitations, I decided to edit the video footage drastically to show only a few highlights. I couldn’t include everything from a 2-hour parade and I’m not sure you would want to watch it. (By the way, can anyone recommend good video-editing software, preferably not too expensive? My new camera produces .mov files, so I can’t edit it with Windows MovieMaker, which I find a bit clunky. I’ve been using QuickTime Pro.)

If you want to see more of the parade, here’s Jacob Richman’s 16-minute video. He was standing on King George, a much better location. The light was brighter and the marchers were performing for the commentator and spectators. His video covers a later segment of the parade. Mine begins with the first group to appear after turning the corner of Agron.

2 Responses to “Video: Jerusalem Sukkot March, 2011”

  1. Thanks for the video. I missed the beginning of the march and I should have stayed put in one place. I bought online an inexpensive video editor called “VideoPad Video Editor”. Simple to use and does what I need.
    Shabbat Shalom,
    Jacob

    • Avital Pinnick said

      I didn’t notice that you moved around a lot. I thought most of the footage was taken from close to the Sheraton. Thanks for the software recommendation! I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

 
