This and That

Random bits of my life

Back to Hutzot haYotzer, 2011

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 30, 2011

Surendra Meher, Ikat weaver

We went back on Aug. 22 to Hutzot haYotzer, the International Arts and Crafts Fair in Jerusalem, and I bought a few small things, including a couple inexpensive pieces of commercial Ikat cloth. I chatted with Surendra Meher, the weaver in the photo above. As you can see from his work on the wall behind him, his weaving is quite impressive, very different from the cheap pieces that were for sale. I couldn’t get a close look because he was standing between passersby and the shawls, probably making sure no one would damage them. I also bought a shoulder bag because I liked the mixture of blues.

Blue bag

Indian cotton

Indian cotton

A Thai woman painted t-shirts and parasols:

Thai woman painting t-shirts

Kyrgzystan

Uzbekistan

The woman in the photo below was selling Chinese embroideries.

Seller of Chinese Embroiders

I love the colourful textiles at one of the Cameroon booths but I couldn’t really justify buying another bag!

Cameroon crafts

Next door an Indian woman was selling batiks.

Indian batiks

No Transylvanian castle should be without a Vlad the Impaler wall clock. Spotted at the Romanian booth.

Vlad the Impaler (Dracula) Clock

They were selling fresh, very aromatic coffee in tiny cups at the Ethiopian booth. A couple women were also doing hair-wrapping.

Ethiopian Hair Braiding

I spotted a macrame border on this orange cloth covering the table at one of the Brazilian booths. I photographed it because lacy macrame is not too common around here.

Macrame Edging

I bought a wood wall clock from Israeli designer Ofek Wertman. He’s the guy in the back right corner in the photo below.

Ofek clocks

There were many interesting clocks for sale at the fair, but this one appealed to me as a personal statement (because I’ve created my life several times over) than as an artistic piece. It’s hanging on my bulletin board at work.

clock

Basta had some lovely, simple pieces made from enameled metal.

Basta

Some of Nuni Yanai‘s beautiful stars. She imports her basket reeds from the US and dyes them herself.

Nuni's stars

2 Responses to “Back to Hutzot haYotzer, 2011”

  1. pam said

    Ok those basket stars are fantastic. You did get one, didn’t you? There is no way i could have resisted. They are simply beautiful.

    Great choice – the clock. I would have taken it home too! Excellent food for thought. So true, isn’t it?

    • Avital Pinnick said

      No, I didn’t, but one of these days I should. Her baskets are gorgeous and beyond my budget but I could probably afford a star. Or I could buy some reeds from her and make one. šŸ™‚ It’s the crafter’s dilemma!

Leave a Reply

 
