This and That

Random bits of my life

New Camera: Canon Powershot S95

Posted by Avital Pinnick on August 18, 2011

New camera!!!! Canon S95

I love my DSLR, a 2-year-old Canon Rebel XSi (aka 450D), but there are times when a big camera is too much to carry. For example, last night I was at a barbecue in a crowded apartment, so wandering around with a plate full of food and a big camera hanging off my shoulder, while squeezing between people, was not an appealing prospect. I also wanted to avoid turning it into a working event (“As long as you brought your camera, would you just take a few photos of my kids/friends/relatives/dogs….”) Ironically, I did end up taking a lot of pictures at the end of the evening, with other people’s cameras. I’m getting really good at looking at figuring out how to turn off the flash and raise the ISO on unfamiliar pocket cameras. 🙂

I know, I know, these compact cameras all look alike, especially if they’re black or silver. IT’s pluses are that it shoots in RAW (as well as JPG, of course), up to 3200 ISO (rather noisy, but that can be cleaned up), and at its widest angle the aperture can be opened up to f/2, which is almost unheard of in a point-and-shoot. It shoots HD video. The minuses are that battery life isn’t great (I plan to buy an extra battery), the optical zoom isn’t as good as what I had on my Canon S5, and there’s no viewfinder, so I have to use the screen. It over-saturates the greens a bit. Will have to see about turning that down.

I really wanted a camera that I could take with me on my morning walk or run. That’s why I’m so excited about the photos I took this morning. I stopped to photograph some sheep in the wadi, when two gazelles bounded past me. They were moving so fast that I only had time to point the camera in the general direction and take two frames. These are cropped.

Gazelles

Gazelles

I don’t normally jog on the security road when the Bedouin are around with their sheep and goats, but this flock was fairly far down in the wadi and not headed in my direction up the hill. I liked this photo because of the cool shadows caused by the sun behind the sheep. (One frame had a bit of sun flare, but this one didn’t.) I also liked the curving lines of sheep coming over the curve of the hillside.

Sheep

3 Responses to “New Camera: Canon Powershot S95”

  1. Stephanie said

    I love both shots. The second one with the lines of sheep coming over the hillside is really amazing. Almost like they were models placed there so perfectly. Such beautiful countryside. :0))

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Stephanie! The sheep were a lucky shot. Usually they aren’t moving much, which makes them a lot less interesting to photograph.

  2. bluebowtie said

    Ah yes, slr’s are quite heavy (We have the same dslr :D).

Leave a Reply

 
