This and That

Random bits of my life

Lunar Eclipse, June 15, 2011

Posted by Avital Pinnick on June 21, 2011

Lunar Eclipse (June 15, 2010)

Ironically, I wasn’t able to photograph the progress of the longest lunar eclipse in years because I was at the Jerusalem Festival of Light. It was gratifying, I must say, to see crowds of people surrounded by glittering lights, staring at the moon. I wish I’d had a tripod with me! The photo above was taken when I got home, at 11:51 p.m., well after the full eclipse. The moon was quite dark, which made it very difficult to focus manually. Even Live Preview mode didn’t help because I just couldn’t see the dark moon in the screen. So I did the best I could with my not-very-good eyes and the viewfinder. 1 sec, ISO 800, f/5, 146mm, RAW format.

The photo below is actually a composite of two exposures, 1/30 sec to capture some details of the old city wall and 1/200 to capture some detail in the moon. These were done without a tripod, around 9:40 p.m., as we were leaving the exhibit. ISO 400 with some noise reduction in Adobe Camera RAW.

Eclipse over Old City Wall

3 Responses to “Lunar Eclipse, June 15, 2011”

  1. Mimi said

    Absolutely beautiful.

  2. Adina said

    No need to apologize about these photos; they’re amazing! The first one is incredible and you’d never know you took it later, esp since the eclipse lasted til close to midnight anyway.

  3. jay maxwell said

    as usual your photos are marvelous. thanks for sharing.
    jay

Leave a Reply

 
