This and That

Random bits of my life

Olim Arts & Crafts Fair, Maale Adumim

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 29, 2011

Olim Arts & Crafts Fair, Maale Adumim

Last Friday (May 27, 2011) I went to the Olim (Immigrants) Arts & Crafts fair at the Maale Adumim mall, despite the freakishly hot weather. The photo above is a panorama of 4 photos stitched together with Photoshop, handheld. I’m surprised it turned out because I’m usually terrible at holding my camera level when I take pictures quickly.

Most of the booths had the usual jewelry, crafts, food, pottery, that you see at these shows. Especially the jewelry. Everything looks like it came out of Bead&Button Magazine. ;-( There was also the usual Judaica, mainly paper cuts and little house blessings and pictures of Jerusalem.

Olim Arts & Crafts Fair, Maale Adumim

A table run by Russian immigrants had a pretty funky mix of stuff, from modular origami and stuffed animals to carved clocks (the back of the clock face appears to have been a sheet of stickers of Hebrew letters, the kind you buy at craft stores).

Olim Arts & Crafts Fair, Maale Adumim

Olim Arts & Crafts Fair, Maale Adumim

The only table that evoked more than a passing flicker of interest was the one with Ethiopian crafts. I bypassed the embroidered challah covers and anything in the colours of the Ethiopian flag, but I did buy this shawl for 25 NIS (about $7). It measures 26×70 inches and is woven of synthetic fibers. There’s a mistake in the warp threading, so that the twill chevrons get messed up a little, but I think that’s part of its charm. It was also very wrinkled.

When I showed it to my husband, he asked whether it was shatnez (mixture of wool and linen, forbidden for Jews to wear). I could have sent it to a shatnez lab, but they would have charged probably more than the shawl was worth, so I did a burn test at home. It’s certainly not shatnez. Neither is my hair. Note to self: it’s not a good idea to do burn testing when tired…. Maybe I’ll write up how to do shatnez testing on your own for simple things like a shawl (not for men’s clothing, which has to be taken apart). If you’re familiar with natural fibers, it’s a useful skill to have.

Shawl

I bought the shawl from a lovely young woman named Mati, who let me take her photo:

Olim Arts & Crafts Fair, Maale Adumim

Leave a Reply

 
