This and That

Random bits of my life

Yom Atzma’ut/Israel Independence Day 2011

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 11, 2011

Yom Atzmaut 2011 in Maale Adumim

Fireworks display at 10:30 p.m. in Maale Adumim. OK, I have to confess that the fireworks didn’t really look like this! 🙂 It’s a composite. But it would have been nice if they had.

Here are a few real shots:

Fireworks

Fireworks

Fireworks

The rest of the fireworks photos are in my Flickr set.

And of course I have to include a few photos of flags:

Israel Independence Day/Yom Atzmaut 2011

When I was photographing the house in the photo above I noticed a puppy watching me at the gate. He disappeared after I took a couple shots. I tried calling him, hoping he would go to the same place. Instead he jumped through the fence, started licking my hands, and followed me for half a block. At least I got one of the photos with him at the gate.

Puppy and Flag - Israel Independence Day 2011

I was playing with Illustrator and decided to morph the text of HaTikvah as though it was on a flag (I should have used a blend mode like multiply or overlay). The flag is not in the traditional position for flags (staff on the left), but I left it this way because the Hebrew words run from right to left and look odd when the lines start at the loose end of the flag and end at the staff. The flag photo isn’t anything special. I photographed it at the traffic circle in Mitzpeh Nevo.

HaTikvah Flag

2 Responses to “Yom Atzma’ut/Israel Independence Day 2011”

  1. Miriyummy said

    I love your Hatikva/flag composite! You should sell that one!

    • Avital Pinnick said

      Thanks, Mirj! Maybe I’ll improve the blending mode and upload a new version so that it looks a bit more natural. I learned a lot from the exercise.

Leave a Reply

 
