This and That

Random bits of my life

Meeting Another Blogger

Posted by Avital Pinnick on May 11, 2011

Miriam

Today was a milestone, the first time I’ve ever met someone through this blog! Miriam Kresh (Israeli Kitchen), a Petach Tikvah-based freelance writer, suggested that we get together for coffee, so we met in Jerusalem this evening. She was toting her Nikon and I had my Canon, so we took a few photos in an alley near Bezalel.

Miriam spotted this monster grape vine. It was growing on the right side of this tiny parking lot, up the side of the building and across the wires to this pool. From there it sprawled in all directions. She noticed that no one was picking the grapes. I’ll bet the birds love it more than the residents do.

Monster Grape Vine

Burning bush graffiti:

Burning Bush graffiti

We chatted over bowls of tomato and rice soup in Cafe Cafe, before sharing a taxi to Binyanei haUma to catch our respective buses. I really enjoyed meeting someone whose blog I’ve been following for over a year. Hope this time won’t be the last!

I tinkered a bit with the Illustrator file of the flag I created a few days ago and changed the blending mode of the text to overlay. Big improvement. Now the text has a more natural effect, as though it’s printed on the flag and affected by the light.

Flag with haTikvah text

2 Responses to “Meeting Another Blogger”

  1. Mimi said

    Was I surprised to see my own face! 🙂 I enjoyed our meeting very much, and hope to stay in touch frequently.

  2. Miriyummy said

    Lucky you! I’ve met up with Miriam twice and each time has been enjoyable. I can’t wait for the next time (especially if it is supplemented by beer, like last time…).

Leave a Reply

 
