This and That

Random bits of my life

Rainy Day Photos While Staying Dry

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 20, 2011

Rainy Day

What do you do if you want to take photos on a rainy day and you don’t want to get wet? These photos came about by accident. I had some time on my hands at work, it was pouring outside, and I wanted to take some pictures. Silly me, I didn’t think to bring an umbrella. Besides, not much is blooming in the courtyard and I’m tired of photographing raindrops in puddles.

I sat by a large window in the dairy cafeteria and watched the rain running down the glass in wide rivulets. When I noticed that the running water distorted the view of the olive trees and pampas grass outside, I switched to manual focus and focused somewhere between the trees outside and the glass.  These are some of the results of my experiments.

Rainy Day

Rainy Day

Rainy Day

5 Responses to “Rainy Day Photos While Staying Dry”

  1. beautiful captures. also thank you for the videos on the Poncetto lace. i’ve been trying it with some success.

  2. Adam said

    Absolutely Gorgeous!

  3. […] essays: Rainy Day. OK, this was actually interesting. I discovered that if you focus midway between the rain running […]

  4. pam said

    Oh I love these! Remind me of images of trees reflected in a quiet pool – when the breeze stirs up the current and swirls the image.

Leave a Reply

 
