This and That

Random bits of my life

Bouquet for Pam

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 18, 2011

One of my most amazing cyber friends, Pam, wrote a lovely blog posting about me, so this bouquet of flower photos is for her. She’s also very modest. If you were to tell her to her face that she’s amazing, she would probably say, “Oh, no, I’m not amazing. My daughter, Diane, now she’s amazing!” Well, that’s certainly true. Diane Gilleland, aka Crafty Pod, is wonderfully talented and accomplished. They’re an amazing mother and daughter pair!

Pam’s Gingerbread Snowflakes blog is dedicated to crafts, especially winter seasonal crafts, but she also blogs about food, traditions, and decorating. She’s a professional photographer (I was blown away by the quality of the photos on her blog before I realised that she was a pro). Over the past couple years she has been a photographic resource, a font of information and advice, a shoulder to cry on, and an unfailing source of encouragement. Whenever I asked her whether I was ready to do something, whether it was taking corporate portraits or shooting a bat mitzvah or brit mila as a paid photographer, she would say, “Of course!,” and I just jumped right in. There were times when I wasn’t sure I wanted to continue blogging or taking pictures and Pam was right behind me, with a pep talk to get me through the hard times. Thanks, Pam! You’re one in a million.

I’ve been photographing a lot of flowers lately, mainly because they’re very easy subjects. They don’t run away or pout, they don’t have bad hair days, and they never, ever say, “Just hurry up and take the picture already!” My foot is slowly getting better but I’m not yet up to the physical level where I can  spend several hours on my feet taking pictures. These photos were all taken close to home — very close to home. Most of them are photos of a neighbour’s garden. I’m very lucky that Nahum’s hobby is gardening, that he lives close to the bus stop where I get picked up for work, and that he’s said I’m always welcome to photograph his plants.

Geranium

Would you believe that this geranium photo was taken after I turned down the saturation on my camera? The reds/pinks are still pretty strong. I didn’t saturate it or change it in post.

Weeds at night

Dry weeds photographed at night, by the light of a street lamp. Handheld because I wasn’t walking around with a tripod. ISO 800.

Tecoma Stans (Yellow Bells)

"There's rosemary, that's for remembrance"

Rosemary is grown as an ornamental shrub in this part of the world. I never noticed before how pretty these tiny flowers are. The colours got a bit washed out because I took this photo in the middle of the day. I should re-take it when the light is better.

"There's pansies, that's for thoughts"

2 Responses to “Bouquet for Pam”

  1. pam said

    What a lovely surprise to find this morning when I turned on my computer! I totally love my bouquet! Especially that it arrived right now on a dark, wintry, foggy morning – with at least two months wait ahead to see anything so pretty in my own garden.

    And you sent me a pansy! Is that because you remember that I love pansies best of all?

    Thank you so much, Avital, for all the nice things you have said and for my flowers and most of all for your friendship.

  2. pam said

    Had to come back and enjoy my bouquet again. Still dark and rainy around here and your images bring me cheer – and hope that one day there really will be flowers in my garden.

Leave a Reply

 
