This and That

Random bits of my life

Fire at Night

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 11, 2011

Fire near Al Zaim

Handheld, RAW, ISO 1600, 250mm, f/5, 1/3sec, slightly cropped

On my way home along the Maale Adumim highway, I saw a huge fire near Al Zaim. It looked like some kind of chemical spill because it was a long ribbon of flames halfway down a barren hillside. We had had very heavy rain for several days. Three nights later it was still burning, although the blaze was much smaller. I took this photo from my balcony at home. Most of the fire is hidden by the crest of the hill and I was 4 kilometers away.

The tower on the upper right is the Augusta Victoria hospital on the north side of the Mount of Olives. The shot below is the same tower with the moon setting behind it, rather severely cropped. That photo was taken from my kitchen window.

Moon setting over Mount of Olives

Leave a Reply

 
