This and That

Random bits of my life

Is it February already?

Posted by Avital Pinnick on February 1, 2011

I lost track of the time, er, calendar until I checked my email this morning and discovered and inbox full of Thing-a-Day posts, test posts, and comments, comments, comments. I’m not sure what I’m going to post for my first “thing.”

Among the many emails was a request from a food magazine (yes! a real, printed magazine in the US!) offering to buy some of my photos for their May issue, which will feature an article on Jerusalem. Of course, I said yes. Even if my photos don’t make the final cut because of space considerations, whatever, it’s still a thrill to be asked. I also got a Flickr mail from Kosherstock, a stock company that specializes in royalty-free stock photos of Jewish and Israeli photos. Does anyone know about them? Any advice on whether it’s okay to contribute photos there?

In the meantime, here’s the latest update of the never-ending Lady with Unicorn cross-stitch project. Sorry about the lighting. I didn’t notice the bad glare on the right side when I took the photo.

Lady with Unicorn Update

For comparison, here’s the last update photo, taken on December 9, 2010.

Lady with Unicorn Update

Lady with Unicorn: Sense of Hearing

7 Responses to “Is it February already?”

  1. Karen R in GA said

    Yeah, time flies when you’re getting nowhere fast, or some other mixed metaphor 🙂 L&U looks fantastic!!! You have done a LOT since December!

  2. Adina said

    Kudos on your pics (maybe) getting into a US food mag! Let us know if they do and which mag – I’ll be in the States in May and will pick up a copy (or several) if you’d like!

    • Avital said

      Thanks, Adina, but it’s not a “sure” thing. I’ve been in publishing and I know how iffy these things are. But if it actually happens, I’ll let you know!

  3. aswirly said

    So exciting about your food photos! COngrats 🙂 It’s fun to see the progress on this cross-stich. I don’t think I’d have the patience 😉

  4. Debbie said

    I’m impressed with your progress, Avital. I know it’s COUNTED cross stitch, but counting all those teeny spaces for all those single stitches in the lower right, is not for me! That’s great about the photo requests. It’s nice when your efforts come to that.

  5. Ann said

    I think it’s wonderful your photos are being appreciated by professionals and am not a bit surprised – they’re really very special!

Leave a Reply

 
